James J. McCarthy

James J. McCarthy is Harvardís Agassiz Professor of Oceanography. From 1982 until 2002 he served as the Director of Harvardís Museum of Comparative Zoology, and from 1996 until 2009 he and his spouse Sue were Co-Masters of Pforzheimer House. His undergraduate degree in biology is from Gonzaga University and his Ph.D. is from Scripps Institution of Oceanography. He was one of three U.S. scientists who had held leadership roles in the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change when it shared the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize. He also had major roles in the 2005 Arctic Climate Impact Assessment and the 2007 Northeast Climate Impacts Assessment. He served as president and chair of the Board of Directors for the American Association for the Advancement of Science (2008-10). He was appointed by President Obama to the U.S. Arctic Research Commission and serves at the Chair of the Board for the Union of Concerned Scientists. He has been elected a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and a Foreign Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.